Parts And Schedules Of The Constitution

Parts Of The Constitution

  • Part-I comprises Articles 1-4 and deals with the territory of India, admission or establishment of new states, formation of new states and alteration of areas, boundaries or names of existing states.
  • Part II comprising Articles 5-11 deals with citizenship.
  • Part III covers Articles 12-35 and deals with the Fundamental Rights of Indian citizens.
  • Part IV covering Articles 36-51 deals with the Directive Principles of State Policy, which aim at establishing social and economic democracy in the country.
  • Part IV-A contains only Article 51A, which was added by the 42nd Amendment in 1976. It outlines the duties of the citizens of India.
  • Part V (52-151) deals with the government at the Union level. Part VI (152-237) deals with the government at the state level.
  • Part VII comprising Article 238, which dealt with states in Part B of the First Schedule, has since been repealed. It was repealed in 1956 by the 7th Amendment. Part VIII (239-242) deals with Union territories.
  • Part IX (Articles 243-243(0) ] dealing with the Panchayats.
  • Part IX-A (Articles 243-P to 243-ZG ) dealing with the Municipalities.
  • Part X deals with the scheduled and Tribal areas and contains Articles 244 and 244-A.
  • Part XI deals with relations between the union and the states. Articles 245-255 deal with legislative relations. Articles 256-263 deal with administrative relations.
  • Part XII deals with finance, property, contracts and suits (264-300-A).
  • Part XIII (Articles 301-307) relates to trade, commerce and intercourse within the territory of India.
  • Part XIV (Article 308-323) relates to services under the Union and states.
  • Part XIVA inserted by the 42nd Amendment in 1976 contains only Articles 323A and 323B which deal with administrative tribunals which may be set up by the Parliament to hear disputes and complaints regarding Union, state or local government employees as well as for other matters.
  • Part XV deals with elections. Article 324 relates to the Election Commission. Articles 325-329-A refer to other matters relating to elections.
  • Part XVI (Articles 330-342) concerns special provisions relating to certain classes such as reservation of seats for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, OBC’s in Lok Sabha and state assemblies; representation of the Anglo-Indian community in Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies.
  • Part XVII (343-351) relates to the official language.
  • Part XVIII (Articles 352-360) deals with emergency provisions.
  • Part XIX (Articles 361-367) contains miscellaneous provisions, regarding exemption of the President and Governors from criminal proceedings for their official acts; immunity from court proceedings publication of the report of proceedings of the Parliament and state legislatures and so on.
  • Part XX deals with the amendment of the Constitution. Article 368 deals with the powers of the Parliament to amend the Constitution.
  • Part XXI ( Articles 369-392) contains temporary, transitional and special provisions.
  • Part XXII concerns the short title, commencement and authoritative text in Hindi and repeals. It contains Articles 393-395.

Check out Polity notes in detail. 

Schedules Of The Constitution

The Constitution of India contains twelve Schedules which provide details about the territories of states and union territories, salaries and allowances of various officials, the forms of oath or affirmation to be taken by various officials, allotment of seats in the Rajya Sabha to various States and Union territories, Administration and control of Scheduled areas, lists that detail the division of powers between the Union and the states, the various regional languages, and various acts and regulations which are protected from judicial scrutiny and lay down disqualification on the ground of defection. The original Constitution contained eight Schedules. The Ninth Schedule was added by the first Constitutional Amendment in 1951. The tenth Schedule was added to the Constitution by the 52nd Amendment in 1985. It contains provisions regarding disqualification on the grounds of defection. The Eleventh Schedule was added to the Constitution by the Seventy-third Amendment, carried out in December 1992. This Schedule contains 29 subjects, on which the Panchayats enjoy administrative control. The Twelfth Schedule was added to the Constitution by the Seventy-fourth Amendment, in December 1992. It lists 18 subjects, on which municipalities shall enjoy administrative control.

List Of Schedules

  • Schedule One deals with the territories of the 25 states and 7 union territories of the Indian Union.
  • Schedule Two deals with the salaries, allowances, etc. of the President, Vice-President, Speaker, Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts, the Comptroller and Auditor General etc.
  • Schedule Three prescribes the various forms of oath or affirmation which various incumbents have to take before assuming a public office.
  • Schedule Four details the seats allotted to various states and union territories in the Rajya Sabha (Council of States).
  • Schedule Five deals with the administration and control of the scheduled areas and Scheduled Tribes.
  • Schedule Six deals with the provision regarding the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura.
  • Schedule Seven details the subjects contained in the three lists – Union List, State List and Concurrent List, over which the Union and state governments enjoy authority.
  • Schedule Eight gives the list of 22 regional languages recognized by the Constitution. Of these, 14 were recognized by the original Constitution (Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu), the fifteenth (Sindhi) was added by the 21st Amendment in 1967; and three viz., Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were added by the 71st Amendment in 1992. Bodo, Dongri, Maithili and Santhali were added by the 92nd Amendment Act of 2003.
  • Schedule Nine contains certain acts and regulations of the state legislature (Example: Acts dealing with land reforms and the abolition of the Zamindari system) which are protected from judicial scrutiny. At present this Schedule contains 282 such acts. This schedule was added by the 1st Amendment (1951).
  • Schedule Ten contains provisions regarding disqualification on grounds of defection.
  • Schedule Eleventh lists 29 subjects, on which the Panchayats have been given administrative control.
  • Schedule Twelfth lists 18 subjects, on which the municipalities shall have administrative control.

Check out the notes for Miscellaneous, Temporary, And Special Provisions.

error: Content is protected !!